A-Z Databases

The most frequently-used databases

A broad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and news sources covering key areas of study such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology. Ideal for exploring topics, finding background information, or adding current perspectives to your research.

CINAHL Plus Full Text (EBSCO)

Useful for finding evidence-based articles on nursing and other allied health topics. Use the advanced search tools to filter your articles by age group, country where the journal is published, or CINAHL Subject Headings.

eBook Collection (EBSCO)

Thousands of full-text eBooks across a wide range of academic and general topics. Titles include reference works, scholarly studies, and popular nonfiction. Use it to read or download books for research, assignments, or personal learning.

EBSCOhost

Provides access to multiple databases covering a wide range of subjects, including academic journals, magazines, eBooks, and other resources. Use it to search across all EBSCO databases at once.

Films on Demand

Over 40,0000 streaming videos on all subjects. Films provided by PBS, BBC, HBO, A&E, National Geographic and many more producers. Citations, closed captions and transcripts are available.

Gale eBooks

Contains specialized reference encyclopedias and other ebooks covering a broad range of topics, including arts, biography, business, history, law, literature, medicine, sciences, and social sciences.

Nexis Uni

Covers general news, business, and legal topics, including market news, legal news, company financial information, law reviews, federal case law, US Code, tax information, and state legal research.

NoodleTools

NoodleTools is an online platform that helps students manage research projects from start to finish. It supports organizing sources, creating accurate citations in MLA, APA, or Chicago style, and developing outlines and notes to build strong arguments. Students can collaborate in real time, get feedback from instructors, and track their progress throughout the research process. It’s designed with student privacy in mind and adapts to different skill levels for personalized support.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)

Provides articles, essays, statistics, and primary sources that present different perspectives on social, political, and cultural issues. Use it to explore opposing viewpoints, find balanced information, and support arguments for debates, persuasive essays, or research projects.

Proquest Central

The largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities. Search across more than 30 databases at one time. Full-text available.

PsycArticles

Full text peer-reviewed articles in a wide range of psychology topics. Includes all journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA).

US Newsstream (Proquest)

Full-text access to major U.S. newspapers, including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune, along with many regional papers. Includes archives dating back to the 1980s. Use it to find reliable reporting, editorials, and analysis on current and historical national news topics.

View All View Less

The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.

Cypress College Library Author Talks

New

Enjoy a range of talks from bestselling authors and thought leaders. Brought to you in partnership with the Library Speakers Consortium

JSTOR

New

Currently only available on campus. Core journals in the fields humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics. Includes some primary sources and book reviews. A great place to find older, digitized and preserved journal issues. Recent issues are not always available in JSTOR as it is an archival resource.

Kanopy BASE

New

Large collection of streaming video content including documentaries, independent cinema, TV series and feature films. Browse educational videos in the fields of visual and performing arts, business, health, social sciences, and communication.

Latino Social and Political Culture and History: Perspectives on the Chicano Movement Digital Archive (Gale Primary Sources)

New

This archive is a primary source resource dedicated to the Chicano Movement (or El Movimiento) and the broader history of Mexican Americans and Latinos in the U.S. It goes straight to the source, giving you digitized, original historical documents to support your research in history, ethnic studies, politics, and sociology.

A-Z Databases

Featured Databases

New / Trial Databases

Subject Resources

Guides by Subject