LIB 100 Syllabus / Palmer

 

Cypress College

Spring 2024 - CRN 23635

Your Instructor is Leslie Palmer

 

Welcome to LIB 100!

This is an 8 week asynchronous online class.

This class is designed to introduce you to research and the role of the library in the research process. We will learn to locate, retrieve, analyze, evaluate, and cite appropriate sources (such as journal articles, books, websites, videos) on a given subject.

The topics covered include developing research strategies, using research tools on the Cypress College Library website, and critical evaluation of sources.

 

Library 100 C Introduction to Research course description

Your instructor - Leslie Palmer

                                                  A photo of my family in the 1970's. I am the one one right in the light blue dress with my dad.

                                                                                            My sister is on the left with my mom.

I was born in Pasadena, California and grew up in the San Fernando Valley in the 1970’s. 

I loved to read as a kid and spend time in the library. As a teenager, in the 1980’s I loved making art and listening to music.  

I went to community college on and off for several years, changing my major lots of times, but never getting a degree. 

As I got older, I had many different jobs, including jewelry-maker, cashier, camp counselor, childcare worker, store clerk, bartender, and I eventually found myself working in a library.

I decided at 30 that I wanted to be librarian. I got my AA from Orange Coast College, transferred to CSUF to get my bachelor’s degree, then onto San Jose State where I got my master’s degree in Library and Information Sciences. Returning to school as an older student was challenging but fun. Who knew that my love of libraries as a kid would end up becoming my career?

I have worked in libraries for the past 30 years, both public and academic. I have worked as a full-time librarian at Cypress College for the last 8 years. I love working at Cypress and helping students is literally my favorite part of the job!

When am not working, I like to collect records and listen to music and watch old movies and TV with my husband. I still DJ sometimes and have a radio show with a friend every December and January.

        Me DJing 80's records in Orange County

 

If you have any questions about our class, doing research for another class, or anything about the library, tutoring, or the Cypress College campus, please reach out to me! I am more than happy to help you find answers to any questions you might have.

Cypress College has a bunch of other resources, besides the library. Some of these include the Health Center, Financial Aid, Career and Transfer Center, Disability Support Services, LGBTQ+ resources, the Bookstore, Counseling Center, free tutoring in the Learning Resource Center, and so much more.

Whether you are an online only student or have classes on campus, Cypress College has ways to support you on your journey.

Leslie Palmer

---

My Contact Information for any Questions

Telephone: 

(714) 484-7000 ext. 48360

E-mail:

• Course Website inbox log onto Canvas through https://cypresscollege.instructure.com
• or email me directly at: lpalmer@cypresscollege.edu

Student hours and One-on-one Zoom meetings

---

I check my email regularly, but please give me at least 24 hours to respond.

Grading

Will be calculated based on percentage in the following areas:

Graded Portion	Percentage
Helping Ourselves and Others (Discussions, Self-Tests & Surveys)	15%
Weekly Assignments	55%
Finals (Final Exam and Final Bibliography)	30%
Total	100%

90-100% = A

80-89% = B

70-79% = C

60-69% = D

50-59% = F*

*Work turned in will always earn points and never be considered failing. Failure is only achieved by not turning in assignments or not participating.

1. After articulating a research need, construct and implement a search strategy using appropriate key concepts and terms in order to locate and retrieve books, articles, and authoritative web sites using a variety of library and Internet search tools.
2. During the research process, differentiate between the types of sources obtained, evaluate the quality and relevance of these sources to the research question, and revise the search strategy, if necessary, to obtain more relevant results to the research assignment criteria.
3. When producing a research paper, correctly synthesize source material into a bibliography or a list of references according to a specified style manual such as MLA.

You Can Be Successful in this class:

• Each week there will be a plan for the week that includes:
  • Read the readings available through the weekly links on the course Canvas site.                No Textbooks Required!
  • Complete weekly assignments, discussions, self-tests or surveys for that week.
• Complete the open book (open resource) final exam to get a passing grade.
• Turn in a final bibliography.

---

• Access to Internet capable device, such as your mobile phone, tablet, or computer or laptop.
• Word or Google Docs.
• If you are having trouble answering a question, please let me know.

Class Schedule

Unit	To-Do
Week 1	Unit 1 - Introductions, Using Canvas, LIB 100 Orientation & Procedures, Academic Honesty due Friday, February 2, 2024 Unit 1 Assignment Unit 1 Discussion Unit 1 Self-Test Student Information Survey
Week 2	Unit 2 - The Research Process—Research Strategy, Types of Information, Search  Organization due Monday, February 12, 2023 Unit 2 Assignment Unit 2 Self-Test Unit 2 Discussion
Week 3	Unit 3 - Citing Sources—Avoiding Plagiarism and Respecting Copyright, Using a Style Manual to Create a Bibliography, Annotating Bibliographies due Tuesday, February 20, 2024 Unit 3 Assignment Unit 3 Self-Test Unit 3 Discussion
Week 4	Unit 4 - Importance of Reference Books, Reference Sources, Reference Books in the Library, Reference Sources Online due Monday, February 26, 2024 Unit 4 Assignment Unit 4 Self-Test Unit 4 Discussion
Week 5	Unit 5 - Finding Books & DVDs—Library Catalogs, Classification Systems due Monday, March 4, 2024 Unit 5 Assignment Unit 5 Self-Test Unit 5 Discussion
Week 6	Unit 6 - Finding Articles—Periodicals, Online Periodical Databases due Monday, March11, 2024 Unit 6 Assignment Unit 2 Self-Test Unit 6 Survey
Week 7	Unit 7 - Finding Information on the Internet—Internet Search Techniques, Evaluating Web Sources due Monday, March 18, 2024 Unit 7 Assignment and Extra Credit Assignment: Unit 7 Self-Test Unit 7 Discussion
Week 8	Finals - Read and Review all 7 Unit readings and assignments in preparation of the comprehensive final exam, turn in your Final Bibliography. You must take the Final Exam to pass the class. Final Exam: due Friday, March 22, 2024 Final Bibliography: due Friday March 22, 2024

• Each weekly assignment and/or quizzes and readings should take approximately 2 hours to complete.
• Due dated assignments are due by Midnight of that date. Late assignments are always accepted. But please be aware that you could get behind on understanding the material, as the units build upon each other.
• You can always re-do any assignment.

Cypress College Library Homepage 

Online Chat service - click on Ask Us icon in top right corner

Text us: 657-214-4639

Reference Desk: librarian@cypresscollege.libanswers.com

Schedule an online research consultation appointment with a librarian

 

 

When You Need Help

Course Help

• If you have a question about the week's materials or how to answer a homework question, email me.
• If you have a personal issue or question, email me.
• If you have any other research concerns, you can contact me or use the "Ask Us" button on this page or the library website. You will get help from a librarian.

Technology Help

• Chat with Canvas Support (Students)
• Canvas Training Services Videos Portal
• Need to borrow a Laptop for the semester?

Help with Other School Matters & Life

• If you need assistance with life in general, try these Student campus resources. They are free to all our students.

I have made every effort to make this course accessible to all students, including students with disabilities.  If you encounter a problem accessing anything in this course, please contact me immediately by email and also contact Disability Support Services (DSS) at (714) 484-7104.