This Library Guide can be used to explore the benefits of international education. The benefits are highlighted during International Education Week. The guide contains sources from the Cypress College Library collection such as fiction, nonfiction, and reference books as well as DVDs, databases and websites.
English for Interacting on Campus by
This volume covers the day-to-day activities of a non-native English speaking student carrying out research, attending lectures, socializing, and living in a foreign country. Whether on a US campus as a foreign student, or in a non-English speaking country where classes are given in English, this book will help students build confidence in interacting with professors and fellow students.
The Exchange Student Survival Kit by
The much-awaited second edition! Study abroad has never been so popular. Students are embarking on life-changing adventures, and they need some tried and true advice. The Exchange Student Survival Kit has become the essential guide for young people traveling abroad, helping them better understand the unique experience of international exchange programs. More important, it shows students how to avoid many common misunderstandings and problems that can occur in the course of their adjustment to a new culture, a new family, a new school and a new community. Based on her years of research and professional involvement with AFS Intercultural Programs, Dr. Hansel has filled the book with examples taken from the experiences of dozens of exchange students from a broad spectrum of cultures. This much-awaited new edition includes: - New communications technology as it affects the experience: e-mail, instant messaging, cell phones, online games and blogs and information searches. - Important advice on personal safety and pressing concerns for parents and students in light of war, terrorism and crime. - Changes in society and family life that affect travelers: fast food replacing family meals, a new emphasis on religious beliefs, consumerism and globalism. For students going abroad, the Survival Kit is the first thing to pack!
Working World by
Are you looking for a career with professional rewards and personal satisfaction? Perhaps you'd like to find meaningful employment in the field of international relations? Working World is the perfect resource for making sound career choices, and is particularly valuable for those interested in exploring a career in international education, exchange, and development. Sherry Mueller, president emeritus of a large nonprofit organization with an international focus, and Mark Overmann, a young professional on his way up, serve as spirited guidance counselors and offer valuable insight on launching a career, not just landing a job. The two authors -- representing contrasting personalities, levels of experience, and different generations -- engage in an entertaining dialogue designed to highlight alternative approaches to the same destination: making a difference in the world. With a rich mix of anecdotes and advice, the two authors present their individual perspectives on career development: identifying your cause, the art of networking, the value of mentors, and careers as "continuous journeys." Mueller and Overmann push job seekers to challenge assumptions about what it means to pursue a career in international relations and to recognize that the path to career success is rarely straight. To help the job seeker chart the best course, Working World provides specific resources including annotated lists of selected organizations, websites, and further reading. Profiles of twelve professionals, from promising young associates to presidents and CEOs, illustrate the book's main topics. Each professional provides insight into his or her career choices, distills lessons learned, and offers practical advice about building a career in international affairs. All of these resources were chosen specifically to help job seekers map the next steps toward the internship, job, or other opportunity that will give shape to the career they envision.
IIEPassport, academic year abroad : the most complete guide to planning academic year abroad by 
Crossing Customs by
First Published in 1999. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
International Student Handbook 2018 by
TheInternational Student Handbook 2018 is the only book exclusively for foreign students! It has information on 2,900 colleges, including each school's "international profile." This guide covers financial aid, Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) requirements, housing availability and special services for international students. It also includes step-by-step guidelines on how to prepare for and apply to colleges in the United States, find financial aid and obtain a student visa. An appendix lists EducationUSA advising centers around the world where students can go locally for assistance and more information. Comprehensive indexes and a detailed glossary of terms will help students find schools that meet their needs.
An Orchestra of Minorities by
A heartbreaking story about a Nigerian poultry farmer who sacrifices everything to win the woman he loves, by Man Booker Finalist and author of The Fishermen, Chigozie Obioma. "It is more than a superb and tragic novel; it's a historical treasure."-Boston Globe Set on the outskirts of Umuahia, Nigeria and narrated by a chi, or guardian spirit, An Orchestra of Minorities tells the story of Chinonso, a young poultry farmer whose soul is ignited when he sees a woman attempting to jump from a highway bridge. Horrified by her recklessness, Chinonso joins her on the roadside and hurls two of his prized chickens into the water below to express the severity of such a fall. The woman, Ndali, is stopped her in her tracks. Bonded by this night on the bridge, Chinonso and Ndali fall in love. But Ndali is from a wealthy family and struggles to imagine a future near a chicken coop. When her family objects to the union because he is uneducated, Chinonso sells most of his possessions to attend a college in Cyprus. But when he arrives he discovers there is no place at the school for him, and that he has been utterly duped by the young Nigerian who has made the arrangements... Penniless, homeless, and furious at a world which continues to relegate him to the sidelines, Chinonso gets further away from his dream, from Ndali and the farm he called home. Spanning continents, traversing the earth and cosmic spaces, and told by a narrator who has lived for hundreds of years, the novel is a contemporary twist of Homer's Odyssey. Written in the mythic style of the Igbo literary tradition, Chigozie Obioma weaves a heart-wrenching epic about destiny and determination.
