This Library Guide can be used as a starting point for your research about Japanese and Chinese New Year. The guide contains sources from the Cypress College Library collection such as fiction, nonfiction, and reference books as well as DVDs, databases and websites. Using the recommended databases, the patron can find scholarly journals, ebooks, magazines and newspaper articles.
In Japan New Year is the most important holiday celebrated in accordance to the Gregorian Calendar. This calendar is a solar calendar used in most of the world. The Chinese New Year also known as the Lunar New Year is the greatest festival in China. It is celebrated following the traditional Chinese calendar.
Culture and Customs of China by
With great care and judicious inclusion of noteworthy material, Gunde has provided a one-stop reference on the contributions of the Chinese and their way of life. In one volume, the essence of China_past and present_is brilliantly captured. The extensive coverage includes chapters on the land, history, and people; thought and religion; literature and art; music and dance; food and clothing; architecture and housing; family and gender; and holidays and leisure activities. The volume is further enhanced by a chronology, guide to pronunciation, glossary, suggested readings, numerous photos, and volume map. China is ever-important on the global stage as the world's second-largest and most populous country. Up-to-date and written with warmth, eloquence, and authority, Culture and Customs of China will be a popular source for students and the interested reader seeking to understand the modern people and culture in the context of an ancient history.
Culture and Customs of Japan by
Their society has been changing rapidly in modern times, yet for most Japanese, cultural traditions retain their importance in daily life. This volume highlights those traditional Japanese elements in modern society, providing an engaging examination of religious rituals, classic and modern literature, performing arts, fine arts and handicrafts, housing, clothing, women's roles and family life, holidays and festivals, and social customs. The book gives students a deeper understanding of Japan beyond popular stereotypes of an Asian economic powerhouse. Japan has undergone a radical transformation in the twentieth century. A highly traditional society has been supplanted by a high-tech one while retaining significant vestiges of the past. Culture and Customs of Japan captures the essence of the ordered Japanese experience in all its many facets. An introductory chapter provides a brief overview of the land, people, language, and history of Japan. Then a chapter on thought and religion illuminates Buddhism, Shinto, and how religion is incorporated into daily life. The book goes on to detail the riches of Japanese literature, performing arts such as kabuki, noh, and puppetry, and fine arts like calligraphy, ikebana (flower arranging), and chanoyu (tea ceremony). Architecture, cuisine, clothing, and the changing dynamics of women, marriage, and family are examined, along with leisure activities and entertainment such as sumo wrestling, martial arts, and manga (comics). A final chapter on social customs, including giftgiving and business protocol, rounds out this portrait of everyday life in contemporary Japan.
Encyclopedia of New Year's Holidays Worldwide by
Given the world's myriad cultures and their associated calendars, the idea of a ""New Year"" is relative and hardly specifies a universal celebration or even a universal point in time. Specific ways of celebrating the New Year are largely culture-dependent, ranging from the observances of religious rituals and superstitions to social gatherings featuring traditional cuisine, music, dancing, noisemaking, fireworks and drinking.The first encyclopedia devoted exclusively to the New Year, this work includes 320 entries focusing on the New Year from a global perspective, expanding coverage of the New Year beyond its traditional Western associations with Christmas. The bulk of the encyclopedia consists of national or regional entries detailing the principal traditions and customs of 130 countries, while 27 entries discuss major calendar systems that are either currently in use, such as the Gregorian and Chinese calendars, or that are of significant historical interest, such as the Aztec, Mayan, and Roman calendars. The remaining entries cover a wide variety of subjects relating to the New Year, including: literary works, movies, and television specials; the customs of specific ethnic groups; universal customs such as toasting and drinking; football bowl games and parades; and the New Year celebrations at the White House and the Vatican.
The Folklore of World Holidays by
This reference introduces legends and folklore surrounding hundreds of internationally-important hoidays in more than 150 countries. Arranged chronologically, in accordance to the Gregorian calendar, each holiday is described in detail.
Encyclopedia of China by
"More than 1,000 entries explore all aspects of China's past, present and future, with essay-length entries on provinces and major cities; Buddhism, Confucianism, Taoism and other religions; family life; calligraphy, embroidery, sculpture and other arts and crafts; folktales and mythology; martial arts, including tai chi chuan and kung fu; native animals and plants; emperors and dynasties; political movements and institutions; traditional medicine; contemporary leaders; festivals and holidays; foreign relations; language and writing; educational systems; Chinese communities around the world; and much more. Photographs and illustrations depict Chinese art and architecture, everyday life, cities, and political figures. An extensive system of cross-references link concepts, people and events."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Holiday Symbols by
This guide explores the origins of more than 750 well-known symbols associated with the 200 most popular holidays in the United States and worldwide. It describes each symbol's traditional, historical, and modern significance while unfolding the stow of the associated holidays.Entries are arranged alphabetically by holiday and contain the following information: type of holiday, location and place of observance, listing of associated symbols, brief introduction to holiday's origin, detailed information about each symbol, listing of related holidays, and bibliography for further reading. Holiday Symbols also features four separate indexes: Chronological, Holiday, Nationality, and Symbol. Includes special section on holiday Web sites.
Long-Long's New Year by
In this beautifully illustrated multicultural children's book, a little Chinese boy named Long-Long accompanies his grandfather into the city to sell cabbages in order to buy food and decorations for the New Year. Selling cabbages is harder than Long-Long expects, and he encounters many adventures before he finds a way to help his grandfather, and earn New Year's treats for his mother and little cousin. The stunning, authentic illustrations by a talented Chinese artist capture the look of everyday life in rural China. Combined with the charming story of Long-Long's trip to the city, they offer a unique introduction to Chinese culture. It includes a glossary of Chinese terms.
