The NoodleTools Companion App is a great tool for scanning in books to create citations, along with much more!
You MUST CREATE AN ACCOUNT through our Cypress College link before logging into the app.
See NEW to NoodleTools? Box of instructions.
NoodleTools is an online research management platform that helps students become better researchers. Students can learn to cite work by filling in easily accessible forms.
Features
For more information see the Noodletools Overview.
If you are NEW to NoodleTools with Cypress College:
1) You must first create an account through the link provided on our database page. By using our link, you are ensured a FREE account as a Cypress College student/faculty member.
2) When you click on the link above:
Make sure you see that you have been authenticated by Cypress College!
Click REGISTER which will direct you to THIS FORM to complete registration.
After logging into NoodleTools, you will see something like this (below).
Make sure you have selected the correct academic school year. See example circled in red below.
Once you are in the correct year, click on New Project.
In the window that appears (see below), name your project in the space labeled Project Title. This can be anything you want, but typically this is your Course Name or your Assignment Title; for example, "ENGL 100" or "Immigration Research Paper."
Select the Citation Style you need. The most commonly used is MLA.
Select your needed Citation Level. You can always change this later. Junior is a good place to start.
Click Submit.
A NOTE ABOUT MLA 9:
If you select MLA, NoodleTools will automatically create the source in MLA 9 which is the most recent edition of MLA. Keep this in mind if you are importing sources from databases because you may need to update those sources to match the ones created in NoodleTools.
Once you click Submit, you will see your new project listed on your Projects page (see example below).
Click on the name of your project, highlighted in blue, to open your project.
Once inside your Project, you'll be on the Sources page (example below) where you can create/add a new source.
For more information on how to create a citation (source), go to our Create a Source page.
Make sure you are LOGGED IN TO NoodleTools.
When you open an ARTICLE in any Gale Database, you will see a page similar to the one below with a menu bar of options.
CLICK on the Cite button. A pop-up box will appear.
Select your citation style and CLICK on NoodleTools.
OR you can scroll to the bottom of the article where you will see the same options.
When you click on NoodleTools, it will open a page similar to this one (below). If yours doesn't look like this, you may need to log into NoodleTools. There will be an option at the bottom of the page.
This screen is to double-check the accuracy of the citations and where you have a chance to make changes:
Please remember that citations from databases are only 90 - 95% accurate and may need changes! This is where you can fix any mistakes you find (for example, all capitals).
Select which project this citation will be saved to in the drop-down menu. Click on Import References.
You will receive a confirmation that your citation was exported to NoodleTools.
You will now find this citation in your Sources in the project you selected in NoodleTools.
In Field-by-Field pasting, you paste (or type) the information required for the citation in each field.
For a database citation like EBSCO, you start by selecting the name of the database. NoodleTools always provides help and tips along the way. If you only have a DOI, you can paste it into the URL field.
Anything with a red asterisk is required.
Next, fill in the Article information. The default is author. You can also add contributors.
Depending on the source type, there may be other options in the drop-down menu.
Fill in as much information as you can.
This example is for a journal article. If you selected another type of article, it will ask you to fill in information accordingly.
Again, fill in as much information as you can. Anything with a red asterisk is required.
When you are done, click the SAVE button in the top right of the page. It will then take you to the Source page where you will see your new source citation added.
The Quick Cite option is to simply copy and paste the citation that is generated by the database you are working in.
If you select Quick Cite, it will take you to a page that looks like the one below.
It will give you a WARNING that there are often mistakes in the database generated citations and so you need to make edits where appropriate. In the example below, you will see that the citation pasted is incorrect in that the author's name is in ALL CAPS. That needs to be corrected by you.
If you are confident that you have corrected any/all mistakes in the citation, click SAVE.
The citation will now appear in your Source page.
It will include a NOTE that states "This is a copy of a preformatted citation."
Once you have all of your sources, you can create your final Works Cited, References, or Bibliography page, depending on your citation style.
Make sure you have 1) sorted your sources as you wish them to appear in your Works Cited or Bibliography page, 2) opened the correct academic year and 3) it is the correct project name.
Select the printer icon.
When you click on the printer icon you will see a drop-down list of options (see example below).
Select Print/Export to Google Docs.
