Research Guides: Ethnic Studies 101 -- Estrada Library Research Guide: Independent Research Activity #2

Historical Context: WWII and Baby Boom Era

Your assignment calls for at least 2 academic sources and 1 relevant visual image from the following research topics:

Zoot Suit Riots or Bracero Program and impacts on Mexican American communities.
Native American relocation program impacts on Native Americans.
Comparative gendered experiences of African Americans during WWII.
Japanese internment or impacts of WWII/Early Cold War on U.S. Pacific Island territories.

These library databases are your best bet for fulfilling your requirements:

U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Supports U.S. history studies and provides an overview of our nation's past, covering the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people.
U.S. History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Library resource that provides periodical content covering events in U.S. history as well as scholarly work established in the field.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Collection of journals that explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community.
Civil Rights and Social Justice (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window Containing publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Includes hundreds of full-text history journals and books, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Smithsonian Open Access This link opens in a new window You can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to more than 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window The largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities. Search across more than 30 databases at one time. Full-text available.
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Search multiple EBSCO products at once.
- This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Access to thousands of video titles in a variety of disciplines.
OneSearch
- This link opens in a new window
OneSearch searches for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more. OneSearch also helps you manage your research. Sign-in to your library account in order to:
- Renew books and media
- Access full-text articles
- Save favorite searches or lists of materials