The basic structure of a psychology research journal article includes: abstract, introduction, methods, results, discussion & references
For this course, focus on these databases:
PsycArticles
This link opens in a new windowFull text peer-reviewed articles in a wide range of psychology topics. Includes all journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
CINAHL Plus Full Text (EBSCO)
This link opens in a new windowUseful for finding evidence-based articles on nursing and other allied health topics. Use the advanced search tools to filter your articles by age group, country where the journal is published, or CINAHL Subject Headings.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)
This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Psychology (Gale OneFile)
This link opens in a new windowA wide range of articles on topics relevant to psycology and human behavior, from current research to historical perspectives. Covers abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and applied psychology.
Psychology Database (Proquest)
This link opens in a new windowArticles from a wide range of topics from leading psychological publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
Gale Health and Wellness (Gale)
This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles, reference materials, videos, and news on health, medicine, and wellness topics. Includes content for both students and general readers from medical journals, magazines, and trusted health organizations. Use it to research diseases, treatments, and health issues for class assignments or personal learning.
Health & Medical Collection (Proquest)
This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications covering medicine, nursing, and health sciences. Includes clinical research, healthcare policy, and medical practice topics. Use it to find peer-reviewed studies and professional information for health and medical research projects.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile)
This link opens in a new windowAn excellent source for studying gender, identity, family, and the social role of women and men throughout history and today. It provides balanced, full-text coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society through thousands of articles from scholarly journals and magazines.
Social Science Database (Proquest)
This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles, journals, and reports on topics across the social sciences. Includes research in sociology, psychology, economics, political science, education, and related areas. Use it to find credible sources and current research for social science papers and projects.
NoodleTools
This link opens in a new windowNoodleTools is an online platform that helps students manage research projects from start to finish. It supports organizing sources, creating accurate citations in MLA, APA, or Chicago style, and developing outlines and notes to build strong arguments. Students can collaborate in real time, get feedback from instructors, and track their progress throughout the research process. It’s designed with student privacy in mind and adapts to different skill levels for personalized support.
