The basic structure of a psychology research journal article includes: abstract, introduction, methods, results, discussion & references
For this course, focus on these databases:
PsycArticlesThis esteemed collection from American Psychological Association (APA) provides access to the full spectrum of study in the field — including cutting-edge research from preeminent scholars, to the historical underpinnings of the behavioral and social sciences.With current journal coverage and historical content dating back more than a century, APA PsycArticles is an indispensable resource for researchers, clinicians, educators and students alike, and a must for any core central collection.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowFull-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in PsycINFO. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
Psychology (Gale OneFile)This link opens in a new windowProvide access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.
Psychology Database (Proquest)This link opens in a new windowThe database encompasses a wide range of topics from leading psychological and psychosomatic publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more. A number of the titles are heavily cited and have a strong set of ISI impact factors.
Gale Health and Wellness (Gale)This link opens in a new windowWhether a lifestyle change, homework assignment, or passing interest, Gale Health and Wellness offers reliable health information, now, with user experience enhancements, collaboration tools, and mobile optimization.
Health & Medical Collection (Proquest)This link opens in a new windowThis database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile)This link opens in a new windowOffers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family, and marital issues, LGBTQ community, and more.
Social Science Database (Proquest)This link opens in a new windowThe Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
NoodleToolsThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian style bibliography/works cited tool.
