Research Guides: Library Research for Eng 101, King, Fall 2023: Welcome!

Today's outcomes:

1. Library services available online:

Library services available online & on this page

Your upcoming assignment:

Bartleby the Scrivener: A Story of Wall-Street
literary analysis, no outside research required

2. Databases & the Research Process:

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window This cross-searchable environment brings together Gale’s premier literary databases to allow users to search across a library’s resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. Gale Literature provides uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing—all enriched by features and design that breathe new life into the study of literature.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Search multiple EBSCO products at once.
- This link opens in a new window
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window The largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities. Search across more than 30 databases at one time. Full-text available.
- This link opens in a new window

SIFT Method for Evaluating Online Sources

SIFT is an online evaluation strategy, developed by digital literacy expert Michael Caulfield (Washington State University Vancouver), to help you judge whether or not online content can be trusted for credible and reliable information. SIFT is quick and simple 4-step process, and can be applied to all types of online content.

SIFT stands for:

STOP

INVESTIGATE THE SOURCE

FIND BETTER COVERAGE

TRACE CLAIMS, QUOTES, AND MEDIA BACK TO THEIR ORIGINAL CONTEXT