Research Guides: Library Research for PHOTO 204c, Preger: Welcome!

Today's outcomes:

1. Library services available online:

2. Find 3+ sources about one of the following Photographers for your research essay:

Harry Gamboa Jr.
Jerry Hsu
Vivian Maier
Alfred Stieglitz
Jonti Wild
Weegee Arthur Fellig
Maya Goded

Resources include: articles, books, essays, documentaries focused on the specific photographer

Recommended Databases:

OneSearch
Start here. Type in the name of your photographer to search all library print and electronic sources.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources.
EBSCOhost
Search multiple EBSCO products at once.
Proquest Central
The largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities. Search across more than 30 databases at one time. Full-text available.

Start with OneSearch on the library's homepage. OneSearch will search all library resources: books, ebooks, library databases, open access materials.
JSTOR, EBSCOhost, and Proquest Central are the best bets for finding articles on your artist in the library databases. Academic OneFile (Gale) also has resources on some of the photographers listed above, but not as many.
Artist not in the library databases? Try searching the movement or other keywords! What are some themes around your artists' work? Is there a particular movement around their work? Use these themes to find work in the databases, some examples include: Feminism, documentary, punk rock, skateboarding, photojournalism, fashion, inequality, Chicano Art Movement, social justice, etc.
Search online. If your photographer is a little more obscure or newly getting recognition, there's a chance you may not find articles on them in the library databases. For these artists, a Google Search is in order. They will often have a website with a lot of biographical information, articles written about them from a variety of sources, and maybe even their contact info. It never hurts to reach out and as for a brief interview -- the worst they can do is say no. You can also check to see if they have any social media, such as an Instagram account, showcasing their work, their upcoming exhibits, a link to their website, and maybe some articles about their work.