Research Guides: Nursing 192 Library Research Guide: Search Terms, Keywords and Finding Articles

Search Term Tips

It is important to try different search terms when you are looking for articles.
- Include any variations in spelling or forms of words, like searching for "hospital" in addition to "hospitalization".
- Include the spelled out version of a term, not just the acronym, like "Electronic Medical Records" in addition to "EMR".
- Include synonyms of your search terms, such as: in addition to searching for "adolescent", try "teen", "pre-teen".
As you look at articles, collect new keywords to add as your search terms. For example, if you are searching for "hospital noise prevention" and you see the phrase "noise prevention and control" showing up a lot in your results, try adding "noise prevention and control" to your search terms and phrases list.
Only put in one or two keywords when doing your search, not a complete sentence. For example, if you want to write about "hand hygiene in the hospital and how it impacts infection control", try entering "hand hygiene" and "infection control" .
You can group a few words together as a phrase, and put in quotation marks, like "therapeutic communication".

A-Z Nursing Subject Guide
A link to over 15 different Nursing databases, with articles from magazines, trade journals and scholarly peer-reviewed journals. Databases included are CINAHL, Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition, as well as Nursing databases from Gale and ProQuest.

Cinahl Plus Full Text database filtering tips This is a screenshot of the filters you can apply to get relevant results for this assignment, if you searching in the Cinahl Plus Full Text database.

PubMed
PubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics.

TIP in searching for articles in PubMed- If you want to see all the Free Full-Text articles in Pub Med, after you enter your search terms, and see a list of results, click the Box next to "Free Full Text" to only see the free articles in your subject. (See screenshot)