Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Information

Library information, services and guidelines

Library Services

Group Study Rooms

Policies

Group study rooms are intended for Cypress College students working on course-related assignments.

  • You will need your Cypress College student ID number and MyGateway Password to reseve a room.
  • You may reserve a room up to one week in advance.
  • You may reserve one study room session (maximum of 3 hours) per day. Rooms may already be reserved, even if empty. To ensure the room is available for you to use, we recommend going online and making a reservation.
  • A maximum of three reservations per week is allowed (up to 3 hours each and not on the same day).

Terms

Room reservations are held for 15 minutes only. The Library reserves the right to allow another student to reserve this room if you are more than 15 minutes late.

  • The Library is not responsible for your personal items. Please do not leave unattended.
  • Study rooms are for group use only and are not soundproof.
  • Masks are required while in the Library.

As a courtesy, please cancel your reservation if you know you no longer need it. By canceling the reservation, this allows you to make another reservation in the same week without penalty. You will find more information on how to cancel in your confirmation email.

Photocopying and Printing

There are multiple self-serve photocopiers in Room 247. The cost to make photocopies is $0.10 per page for black and white or $0.60 per page for color. The photocopiers will accept cash (bills and coins).

Computer Printing

  • Printing from the Library computers requires cash (bills and coins).
  • The cost to print is $0.10 per page for black and white or $0.60 per page for color.
  • Print jobs can be retrieved from the Library or the LRC. Print jobs to the color printer must be retrieved from the color printer on the 1st floor (LRC).
  • For assistance, please stop by the reference desk and ask a librarian.

Special Collections / Archives / Digital Collection

The Cypress College Library special collections/archives room houses Cypress College specific materials. Most of these materials hold historical value to the college and collection. Some items are available for check out; however, most items are to be used in the Special Collections room. See a librarian for assistance.


Wireless Access (WiFi)

Cypress College provides free wireless access on campus. Every user must first go through a series of security checkpoints before internet access is available on your personal laptop. Ethernet cables are also available for check out from the Circulation counter. There are a few specific study carrels and group study rooms with live internet ports. See a librarian for assistance.

Computing Resources Use Policy

Purpose

The purpose of this section is to explain the terms of use for instructional computing resources available to students of Cypress College. All computing resources are intended to support the research and educational mission of Cypress College; their use is a privilege and a responsibility. The use of computing resources is subject to all applicable local, state, and federal laws, the general guidelines in effect at individual campus computing centers.

Definition

As used in this section, computing resources include (but are not limited to): Enterprise server terminals, personal computers, local area networks (LANs), printers, CD-ROM drives, cables, connections, software applications such as word processing, database and spreadsheet programs, library catalogs, full-text databases, telecommunication packages, all Internet resources and services, and all other computer equipment and software.

Campus Computing Centers

Individual computing centers maintain their own specific policies regarding the use of their resources. Users of individual computing centers are to follow these policies. Users who establish individual computer accounts for use of Internet email or other applications will be required to sign an agreement to abide by the policies of the computing center issuing those accounts.

Enforcement

The acceptable use policy is intended to establish and declare the personal responsibility of every individual who uses any computing resource at Cypress College. By making this policy public and available to all users of computing resources on the campus, Cypress College and its designated representatives reserve the right to confiscate any or all computing privileges from any individual who refuses to follow the guidelines for responsible computing use. Cypress College also reserves the right to limit, restrict, or deny access to any and all computing resources as the individual situation may require.

General Guidelines

The following guidelines are to be followed by every individual who makes use of computing resources at Cypress College:

  1. The use of computing resources and any resources accessed by them is for the instructional purposes of Cypress College. Individual computing centers reserve the right to restrict activities such as personal email or games when instructional needs require the computing resources.
  2. No tampering with the computing resources. This includes but is not limited to: connecting or disconnecting computer equipment, unauthorized loading of software on a computer, or otherwise altering the set-up of any computer or network of computers in any way.
  3. No illegal use of computing resources. This includes but is not limited to: loading virus programs onto or from any computer system, using the Internet or other telecommunications-based resources to transfer illegal materials or unauthorized versions of copyrighted material, using the Internet to harass, terrorize, blackmail, defraud, or otherwise abuse another person, or using any computing resource in such a manner that it constitutes the breaking of a District or campus policy, or a local, state, or federal law.
  4. No use of computing resources for financial or political gain. This includes but is not limited to: sending “chain letters” or other unauthorized and illegal correspondence, advertising, marketing, or selling of products, and campaigning for any political cause or individual.
  5. No violation of other individuals’ privacy or rights. This includes but is not limited to: accessing another person’s account or any data stored and used by that person, sharing another person’s private correspondence with others, destroying or modifying data that belongs to someone else, or sending offensive messages of any kind.
  6. Observe all regulations and rules of the individual computing centers. This includes but is not limited to: observing hours of operation, maintaining a reasonable level of quiet in order for others to work, and following all that center’s policies regarding food and beverage use, time limits, printing and downloading, and any other terms of use.
  7. Failure to follow these guidelines may result in disciplinary action on the part of Cypress College and any of its designated representatives (including individual computing centers). Such action may include: restriction or suspension of computing privileges at any or all individual campus computing centers, suspension of other campus privileges, including registration and enrollment, and notification of law enforcement officials.

Library Services

Group Study Rooms

Policies

Group study rooms are intended for Cypress College students working on course-related assignments.

  • You will need your Cypress College student ID number and MyGateway Password to reseve a room.
  • You may reserve a room up to one week in advance.
  • You may reserve one study room session (maximum of 3 hours) per day. Rooms may already be reserved, even if empty. To ensure the room is available for you to use, we recommend going online and making a reservation.
  • A maximum of three reservations per week is allowed (up to 3 hours each and not on the same day).

Terms

Room reservations are held for 15 minutes only. The Library reserves the right to allow another student to reserve this room if you are more than 15 minutes late.

  • The Library is not responsible for your personal items. Please do not leave unattended.
  • Study rooms are for group use only and are not soundproof.
  • Masks are required while in the Library.

As a courtesy, please cancel your reservation if you know you no longer need it. By canceling the reservation, this allows you to make another reservation in the same week without penalty. You will find more information on how to cancel in your confirmation email.