Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Information

Library information, services and guidelines

Policies

Cell Phone Policy

In consideration of other Library patrons, cell phone use is only allowed in the L/LRC Rotunda.

Patrons who violate this policy will be asked by Library Staff to immediately discontinue the call or move to the approved area. Patrons who continue to violate the policy will be asked to leave the Library.

Children on Campus Guidelines

Cypress College celebrates the presence of many children in the lives of our campus family and the college is committed to doing everything possible to ensure the health, safety and well being of all children.

Why do we need these guidelines?

The college manages its campus primarily for adults and is not held responsible for supervising children. Furthermore, students and faculty expect to be able to conduct their activities in an academic environment. Therefore, any parent or guardian who brings a child to Cypress College must adhere strictly to established guidelines. A parent or guardian can be any student, faculty or staff member, vendor, or campus visitor.

Who is a child?

For purposes of these child-protection guidelines, the term “child” applies to any person under the age of 18 who is not otherwise enrolled in a program or course at Cypress College, including programs/courses offered by the School of Continuing Education.

Guidelines to be followed while using the LLRC

  1. Children are not allowed on the first floor.
  2. Children may not accompany parents or guardians to classes, labs or the work site.
  3. “Arms-length supervision” by a parent or guardian is required at all times.
  4. NOTE: At no time is a child to be allowed to view a computer screen. Within ‘arms-length supervision’ means the child accompanying a parent/guardian must sit so that s/he looks away from the computer.
  5. Should a child become disruptive, both the parent or guardian and child may be asked to leave the campus.

Collection Development

Computing Resources Use Policy

Purpose

The purpose of this section is to explain the terms of use for instructional computing resources available to students of Cypress College. All computing resources are intended to support the research and educational mission of Cypress College; their use is a privilege and a responsibility. The use of computing resources is subject to all applicable local, state, and federal laws, the general guidelines in effect at individual campus computing centers.

Definition

As used in this section, computing resources include (but are not limited to): Enterprise server terminals, personal computers, local area networks (LANs), printers, CD-ROM drives, cables, connections, software applications such as word processing, database and spreadsheet programs, library catalogs, full-text databases, telecommunication packages, all Internet resources and services, and all other computer equipment and software.

Campus Computing Centers

Individual computing centers maintain their own specific policies regarding the use of their resources. Users of individual computing centers are to follow these policies. Users who establish individual computer accounts for use of Internet email or other applications will be required to sign an agreement to abide by the policies of the computing center issuing those accounts.

Enforcement

The acceptable use policy is intended to establish and declare the personal responsibility of every individual who uses any computing resource at Cypress College. By making this policy public and available to all users of computing resources on the campus, Cypress College and its designated representatives reserve the right to confiscate any or all computing privileges from any individual who refuses to follow the guidelines for responsible computing use. Cypress College also reserves the right to limit, restrict, or deny access to any and all computing resources as the individual situation may require.

General Guidelines

The following guidelines are to be followed by every individual who makes use of computing resources at Cypress College:

  1. The use of computing resources and any resources accessed by them is for the instructional purposes of Cypress College. Individual computing centers reserve the right to restrict activities such as personal email or games when instructional needs require the computing resources.
  2. No tampering with the computing resources. This includes but is not limited to: connecting or disconnecting computer equipment, unauthorized loading of software on a computer, or otherwise altering the set-up of any computer or network of computers in any way.
  3. No illegal use of computing resources. This includes but is not limited to: loading virus programs onto or from any computer system, using the Internet or other telecommunications-based resources to transfer illegal materials or unauthorized versions of copyrighted material, using the Internet to harass, terrorize, blackmail, defraud, or otherwise abuse another person, or using any computing resource in such a manner that it constitutes the breaking of a District or campus policy, or a local, state, or federal law.
  4. No use of computing resources for financial or political gain. This includes but is not limited to: sending “chain letters” or other unauthorized and illegal correspondence, advertising, marketing, or selling of products, and campaigning for any political cause or individual.
  5. No violation of other individuals’ privacy or rights. This includes but is not limited to: accessing another person’s account or any data stored and used by that person, sharing another person’s private correspondence with others, destroying or modifying data that belongs to someone else, or sending offensive messages of any kind.
  6. Observe all regulations and rules of the individual computing centers. This includes but is not limited to: observing hours of operation, maintaining a reasonable level of quiet in order for others to work, and following all that center’s policies regarding food and beverage use, time limits, printing and downloading, and any other terms of use.
  7. Failure to follow these guidelines may result in disciplinary action on the part of Cypress College and any of its designated representatives (including individual computing centers). Such action may include: restriction or suspension of computing privileges at any or all individual campus computing centers, suspension of other campus privileges, including registration and enrollment, and notification of law enforcement officials.

Group Study Rooms

Policies

Group study rooms are intended for Cypress College students working on course-related assignments in groups of 2 or more.

  • You will need your Cypress College student ID number and MyGateway Password to reserve a room.
  • You may reserve a room up to one week in advance.
  • You may reserve one study room session (maximum of 3 hours) per day. Rooms may already be reserved, even if empty. To ensure the room is available for you to use, we recommend going online and making a reservation.
  • A maximum of three reservations per week is allowed (up to 3 hours each and not on the same day).

Terms

Room reservations are held for 15 minutes only. The Library reserves the right to allow another student to reserve this room if you are more than 15 minutes late.

  • The Library is not responsible for your personal items. Please do not leave unattended.
  • Study rooms are for group use only and are not soundproof.
  • Masks are required while in the Library.

As a courtesy, please cancel your reservation if you know you no longer need it. By canceling the reservation, this allows you to make another reservation in the same week without penalty. You will find more information on how to cancel in your confirmation email.

Library Displays

The Cypress College L/LRC maintains an exhibit case and display unit in the first floor Rotunda of the L/LRC. Funding for the display unit was provided by the Diversity Committee and the Library.

The exhibits and displays should be appropriate to an academic setting.

  • Displays that promote an appreciation, recognition, and understanding of diversity will be given priority. Guidelines for diversity events will be based on the Diversity Committee’s “Cypress College Multicultural Calendar of Events.”
  • Displays may also support the curriculum and/or institutional mission of Cypress College.
  • Displays may promote and reflect the L/LRC’s collections and services.

Exhibits and displays may reflect the unique personal expression(s) and composition ideas of the displayer, respective of the ACRL policy, “Free of information and of creative expression should be reflected in library exhibits and in all relevant library policy.” (ACRL Intellectual Freedom Principles for Academic Libraries, item #7).

The monthly displays are to be scheduled by a Learning Resources staff member or the Diversity Committee’s library representative, with final approval from the Diversity Committee’s library representative. The person or department or committee responsible for planning and setting up a display/exhibit is also responsible for removing materials within two days of the end of the scheduled time. A form is to be filled out by the prospective displayer prior to the display date. This will include the identity of the displayer and a brief description of the theme and/or contents of the proposed exhibit/display, the dates of the display and the contact information. Posters and flyers announcing events on campus are to be submitted to the LRC desk for approval. LRC staff will place the posters or flyers on the display unit with any handouts related to the event and will remove them after the scheduled events.The exhibit case will be locked. Please ask the LRC desk for access to the exhibit case.

Library Donations

The Library welcomes gifts and donations which add strength to the collection and meet the same selection criteria outlined for the purchase of new materials. Generally, gifts which impose limitation on housing, handling, or disposition cannot be accepted. Library personnel will not issue appraisals of gift materials for tax or any other purpose. Materials not added to the collection will be given to other libraries, appropriate faculty, or on occasion, given to students.

For additional information, please contact the reference librarian at (714) 484-7069.

Renewals

Renewals may not be available if the item is considered high-use or if other students are waiting to use the material. You may check with the staff at Circulation for more information at: circulation@cypresscollege.edu