On the Sources page, click on New Source.
Select Database as the Source. Then choose a source type.
This example is for a Journal article.
You will see a page like the following one. You will see Database selected on the left side. You can always change this.
You will also see Journal as the source you are citing. You can also change this.
On this page, you can do Field-by-Field pasting OR you can select Quick Cite
Before you paste, determine from where you are copying the citation information.
In EBSCO, when you have opened an article, you will see menu options like the one you see below.
The paper image is the Cite button. When you click on it, a Citation Format pop-up box will appear.
Scroll down to select your required citation style. You can highlight and copy from here.
If you emailed the article to yourself from the EBSCO database, you can also copy and paste the information from the email where the citation can be included.
In the ProQuest database, when you open an article you will see a Cite button option.
When you click on it, a Cite pop-up box will appear.
Select your required citation style. The citation will generate in the box below. You can copy from there. MLA 9 may not YET be available in the database.
In the ProQuest database, you can also select the Abstract/Details tab which will give you a list of all important information to create your citation. It looks similar to the image below.
You can also copy from there.
OR if you email yourself an article from ProQuest, including the abstract and citation (similar to the image below), you can also copy from there.
In Field-by-Field pasting, you paste (or type) the information required for the citation in each field.
For a database citation like EBSCO, you start by selecting the name of the database. NoodleTools always provides help and tips along the way. If you only have a DOI, you can paste it into the URL field.
Anything with a red asterisk is required.
Next, fill in the Article information. The default is author. You can also add contributors.
Depending on the source type, there may be other options in the drop-down menu.
Fill in as much information as you can.
This example is for a journal article. If you selected another type of article, it will ask you to fill in information accordingly.
Again, fill in as much information as you can. Anything with a red asterisk is required.
When you are done, click the SAVE button in the top right of the page. It will then take you to the Source page where you will see your new source citation added.
The Quick Cite option is to simply copy and paste the citation that is generated by the database you are working in.
If you select Quick Cite, it will take you to a page that looks like the one below.
It will give you a WARNING that there are often mistakes in the database generated citations and so you need to make edits where appropriate. In the example below, you will see that the citation pasted is incorrect in that the author's name is in ALL CAPS. That needs to be corrected by you.
If you are confident that you have corrected any/all mistakes in the citation, click SAVE.
The citation will now appear in your Source page.
It will include a NOTE that states "This is a copy of a preformatted citation."